Welcome to the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences (ECMS).

With schools ranked in the top 50 globally* and an outstanding reputation for teaching, research and the quality of our graduates, a qualification from the Faculty of ECMS can open the door to a world of opportunity.

*2020 Academic Ranking of World Universities

Study with us

With a degree from the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences, you could work in a wide range of industries. Specialise in an area of interest with our undergraduate, postgraduate coursework and research degrees.

Study with Us


We are committed to delivering research that helps solve complex global problems and contributes to national priorities. We are home to a number of research institutes and centres and have expertise across a range of areas.


Engage with us

From providing commercial testing services and media expertise, to supporting primary and secondary school teachers with educational activities; we work closely with industry, government, alumni and the wider community.

Engage with Us


Options for majors and minors include:

  • Cybersecurity
  • Defence Systems
  • Medical Technologies
  • Smart Technologies
  • Renewable Energy

See all majors and minors


Options for postgraduate coursework degrees include:

  • Engineering
  • Data Science
  • Computer Science
  • Computing and Innovation

postgraduate degrees

Student support

Are you a current or commencing student? Our Ask ECMS team can assist with all types of queries, from enrolment and study plans, to degree checks and credit transfers. Access our online resources, including study plans and forms.

Student support

Ingenuity 2020 has gone virtual

Ingenuity is an interactive showcase of our student's projects exploring the real-life applications of engineering, computer and mathematical sciences. Each year we welcome school students, teachers, industry representatives and the public—which is the biggest event of its kind in South Australia.


The Portal - your gateway to commercialisation

Operated by the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences, The Portal provides specific commercialisation advice and technology assessments to University staff and students all the way from idea to market.

Submit your innovation




UNHaRMED: Improved Decision Support for Natural Hazard Risk Reduction

Researchers at the University of Adelaide’s Environmental Institute, funded by the Bushfire and Natural Hazards Cooperative Research Centre have designed a system to help avert future catastrophic disasters.



Laura Bassi Scholarship for postgraduates, HDR students and junior academics

The Laura Bassi Scholarship was established by Editing Press in 2018 with the aim of providing editorial assistance to postgraduates and junior academics whose research focuses on neglected topics of study, broadly construed, within their disciplines. 



Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials student awarded the Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award

Congratulations to Chemical Engineering student Lachlan Maddaford who recently had the honour of being presented the Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award by the Governor of South Australia.



Matthew Welsh selected as Society of Petroleum Engineering Distinguished Lecturer

Dr Matthew Welsh, a Senior Research Fellow in the Australian School of Petroleum and Energy Resources (ASPER), is commencing his 2020-21 (virtual) tour as a Society of Petroleum Engineers Distinguished Lecturer with invited presentations in nine cities around the world.



UG Civil Environmental internship with Mt Barker District Council

The Mount Barker District Council is seeking expressions of interest from a 3rd or 4th Year Civil Environmental Undergraduate for a 12 week unpaid placement commencing on Monday 2 November 2020. Applications close Friday 16 October.



4 ECMS researchers in The Australian's Lifetime Achievers Leaderboard

Congratulations to the four Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical (and only University of Adelaide) researchers who have been listed in our nation's top 40 researchers, as named by The Australian. 





Pinned event: Ingenuity 2020

27 October: Ingenuity, our annual interactive showcase of university student projects has gone virtual in 2020. Register now to explore the projects throughout the day on Tuesday 27 October.



The Future of Innovation and Commercialisation in South Australia

27 October: Hear from three South Australian industry leaders as they share their personal journeys in becoming successful entrepreneurs, and their insights in to the future of South Australia’s innovation and commercialisation.



Engineers Australia: Industry Insights webinar

Follow a day in the life of a graduate engineer working in engineering industry.



Engineers Australia: Advice from an Engineering Leader

Engineers Australia speak with senior engineering leaders to discover their journey to the top, hear about their thoughts on the future of engineering, and what young engineers can do today to make themselves the leaders of tomorrow.