

Australian Grain Technologies Plant Breeding Prize

This prize was established by the University as a result of a donation of \$20,000 from Australian Grain Technologies (AGT), Australia's leading private plant breeding company, for the purpose of providing a prize within the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine in the area of plant breeding. The prize was instituted to celebrate the substantial contribution past plant breeders have made to the productivity of Australian farms. It recognises the teaching and inspiration that Gil Hollamby and the late Tony Rathjen provided to University of Adelaide students over an extended period of time, some 40 years in duration from the 1970's.

The prize shall be awarded by the School of Agriculture, Food & Wine at the annual prize giving ceremony. If two or more students eligible for the prize are of equal merit, then the prize shall be shared equally among them.

Year	Winner
2021	Gemma Lee Nunn
2020	Qili Xu
2020	Alec John McCallum
2019	Connor William Fuss
2018	Jana Dixon
2018	Alex James Clare
2017	Daniel Philip Petersen

Prize recipients

Prize rules

Value

The value of the prize shall be \$1,000, or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the prize does not exceed the annual distribution of interest available from the Endowment Fund.

Eligibility

Student in the Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences.

Candidate Selection

The student who has completed the course Plant Breeding III, towards the degree of Bachelor of Agricultural Sciences, and in the opinion of the Program Coordinator, is the highest ranked and of sufficient merit.

Variations

These rules may be varied from time to time in a manner consistant with the University's legal obligations and policies, but the title and purpose of the prize shall not be changed.

Last Updated 13/05/2022